Blink 182

Punk rock or pop punk are terms used to describe the music played by Blink-182. The band formed in Poway, California, in 1992. The band members cite Screeching Weasel, Pennywise, The Vandals, Buzzcocks, Descendents, Bad Religion, The Undertones, and NOFX as their influences. Blink-182's current lineup is as follows: Tom DeLonge (guitar and vocals), Mark Hoppus (bass guitar and vocals) and Travis Barker (drums and percussion). Over the years the band has had some bad experiences. Tom DeLonge quit the band which forced Blink-182 to enter an indefinite hiatus. Then some time later, Travis Barker, barely escaped with his life when his plane crashed after performing with Perry Farrell of Jane's Addiction in South Carolina. DeLonge and Hoppus both visited Barker while in the hospital. Barker's accident ended up bringing Blink-182 back together again. On February 8, 2009, Hoppus, DeLonge and Barker appeared onstage for the 51st Grammy Awards and announced the band's are reformation. Over the years Blink-182 has released six studio albums. They are as follows: Cheshire Cat (1994), Dude Ranch (1997), Enema of the State (1999), Take Off Your Pants and Jacket (2001), Blink-182 (2003) and Neighborhoods (2011). The band's largest commercial success, and multi-platinum album, was Enema of the State. Worldwide Blink-182 has sold over 28 million records since forming. "All the Small Things" and "Adam's Song" are the singles that have had the most airtime. Blink-182 are known for their various gags while live onstage in concert. Their songs are normally played at a faster rate and some lyrics are replaced with 'toilet humor'. In 2001, The New York Times announced that Blink-182 was the most influential punk band of the 90's.