Cradle of Filth

Cradle of Filth is an extreme metal band from Suffolk, England. They band formed in 1991. The band's musical style can be described as symphonic black metal, dark metal or even gothic black metal. Cradle of Filth's music continues to evolve with each new release which makes them extremely hard to categorized. It seems with each release the band's sound is much cleaner. The band cites they are an extreme metal band who compose creepily melodic music. They dress in satanic garb while onstage. This is more for shock value then their beliefs. Their costumes and imagery are influenced by gothic literature, mythology, horror films and even gothic poetry. The lyrics of their music rarely reference satanism. Current members of the band are: Dani Filth (lead vocals), James McIlroy (rhythm guitar), Paul Allender (lead guitar), Dave Pybus (bass guitar), Martin Marthus Skaroupa (drums) and Caroline Campbell (keyboards and backing vocals). Cradle of Filth's discography contains seven studio albums. These albums are: "The Principle of Evil Made Flesh" (1994, "Dusk...and Her Embrace" (1996), "Cruelty and the Beast" (1998), "Midian" (2000), "Damnation and a Day" (2003), "Nymphetamine" (2004), "Thornography" (2006), "Godspeed on the Devil's Thunder" (20008), and "Darkly, Darkly, Venus Aversa" (2010). Cradle of Filth has recently tried to produce a more commercial image. This transformation, if you will, has brought them into the spotlight of MTV and Kerrang!. Much to the disapproval of their early fan base, this has given them the opportunity to perform at some major music festivals. These include: Ozzfest, Sziget Festival, and the Download Festival just to name a few.