Jeff Hanneman and Kerry King are the founders of the American thrash band Slayer. They formed the band in Huntington Park, California, in 1981. In 1986 the band rose to fame when Rick Rubin's, of Def Jam Records, released their album, "Reign of Blood". This album was banned due to its cover art and themes. Even with no radio air play this album debuted at number 94 on the Billboard 200. 

"Reign of Blood" is considered to be the inspiration of death metal. This album was given high remarks for the incredible speed and hardcore tempos. Slayer performed the music in this album at an average of 220 per minute. They use tremolo picking, double bass drumming, with shouting vocals.  Slayer is also credited for being one of the 'Big Four' metal bands. The other three are Metallica, Megadeth, and Anthrax.

Their current line up is as follows: Tom Ayaya (bassist, lead vocals), Jeff Hanneman (guitars), Kerry King (guitars), and Dave Lombardo (drums). Their song lyrics and album art normally revolve around Satanism, serial killers, and warfare. Since their 1983 debut they have released eleven studio albums, two extended plays, two live albums, one boxed set, and six videos.

They have received five Grammy nominations over the years and won two. Slayer has toured worldwide and played at many music fests over the years. Some of these festivals follow:  Ozzfest, Download, and the Unholy Alliance. Slayer is currently on a worldwide tour beginning on March 2012 in London, UK, and ending on August 2012 in Harfort, Connecticut.