Guns N' Roses

Guns N Roses was formed in March 1985, in Los Angeles, CA. They were signed by Geffen Records in 1986.  Their music is a mixture of punk rock, blues, heavy metal and hard rock. Their chart topping lineup consisted of Axl Rose - vocalist, Slash - lead guitar, Izzy Stadlin - rhythm guitar, Duff McKagen - bass, and Steven Adler - drums. Axl Rose is the only remaining member of GNR today.  They have sold a total of 100 million albums worldwide.  GNR has been accredited to bringing rock n roll back into mainstream popularity in the midst of a chart dominated by dance music. 'Appetite for Destruction' was their debut album and is the highest selling debut album of all time in the United States. It was released July 21, 1987. This album has sold over 28 million copies worldwide. Singles from this album include: "It's So Easy," "Welcome to the Jungle," "Sweet Child O' Mine," "Paradise City," and "Nightrain." Other albums include: 1988's: 'G N R' Lies," 1991's: 'Use your Illusion part I and II,' 1993's: 'The Spaghetti Incident,' and 2008's: 'Chinese Democracy.' Guns N Roses has been a fairly criticized band. The band is known for it's alcohol and drug abuse as well as Axl's negative influence of young fans by wearing his over abundance of Charles Manson t shirts. The length of time between albums has also been heavily criticized as well as their late arrival at concerts. G N R were inducted in the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame in 2012. Axl Rose refused to attend this event.