Universal Monsters

Universal Monsters, also known as Universal Horror, are actually a collection of Universal Studio suspense, horror films created between the years of 1923 to 1960. The creations actually began, in 1913. However, Universal went by the name of Independent Moving Pictures Company or IMP at this time. IMP made only one film, Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde (1913) before their current name change. The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1923) was their first horror movie success. This movie was such a success that it led to their next horror film entitled, The Phantom of the Opera (1925). In the 1930's, during the Great Depression, Universal produced many more suspense, horror films. The list includes: Dracula (1930), Frankenstein (1931), The Mummy (1932), The Invisible Man (1933), Werewolf of London (1935), and the Bride of Frankenstein (1935). In the 1940's Universal released The Invisible Man Returns (1940),  The Wolf Man (1941), Son of Dracula (1943), The Mummy's Curse (1944), House of Dracula (1945), Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948), plus many, many more. With the release of the Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954), Universal was able to capture a new generation of fans. They decided to re-release some of their previously made horror successes as double features as well as a handful of new movies. Abbott and Costello Meet the Invisible Man (1951), Abbott and Costello Meet Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1953), Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy (1955), Tarantula (1955) The Creature Walks Among Us (1956) only to name a few. Buy the 1960's Universal's monsters were being distributed as toys, posters, and modeling kits.